Hard to Watch. Important to See.

Recently, there’s been a lot of press and social media talk surrounding the upcoming film, Return to Zero which is airing this Saturday, May 17 on Lifetime. It is based on the lives of Sean and Kiley Hanish, and the birth of their stillborn son. Yes, a mainstream movie about a family who loses their child, and the struggles they go through to survive personally, and together. It’s the first movie of its kind.

Photo Credit: Return to Zero Official Trailer

Photo Credit: Return to Zero Official Trailer

Watching this trailer brought me to tears, so I can only imagine what the whole film will be like. I have our DVR set to record it because I’m not sure I’m going to be able to watch it the whole way through in one sitting. I’m imagining there will be plenty of pausing, crying, starting, stopping, sobbing, and watching again. And there had better be plenty of tissues. The truth is, I don’t want to watch the movie as much as I want to see it. I’ve lived a version of this story. I’ve lived too many versions of this story. But I realize the importance of telling this story because it represents countless others that have gone unheard. I’m grateful to the Hanish family, and everyone involved in the making and airing this film, and to the resources and discussions surrounding it.

My hope is that people will watch, and not just those who have experienced loss(es), but their family, friends and beyond. I hope people will learn, and that maybe, just maybe, they’ll start to understand what so many of us have gone through. I hope that the conversation continues, and that the press coverage surrounding the topics of stillbirths, miscarriage and baby loss doesn’t end with the closing credits. And I hope that those who have had similar experiences, but haven’t felt like that can talk about their babies, find their voices.

It may take me a long time to see it the whole way through, but I will see it, and I hope you will too.

Leave a Reply

